CBSE - Central Board of Secondary Education

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is a Board of Education for public and private schools, under the Union Government of India. CBSE affiliates all Kendriya Vidyalayas, all Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas, private schools and most of the schools approved by central government of India. CBSE conducts the final examinations for Class 10 and Class 12 every year in the month of March. The results are announced by the end of May. CBSE also conducts AIPMT (All India Pre Medical Test), JEE(Main) and National Eligibility Test (NET).

The Board advocates Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation with an emphasis on holistic development of learners. The Board commits itself to providing a stress-free learning environment that will develop competent, confident and enterprising citizens who will promote harmony and peace.


1. Has the Board fixed any age criteria to appear in class X examination?

No, the Board has not fixed any minimum/maximum age to appear in class-10th examination however; at the time of admission the student should satisfy the requirements of age limits (minimum & maximum) as determined by the State/U.T. Government and applicable to the place where the School is located.

2. Is the syllabus for classes IX and X available on CBSE website?

Yes, the syllabus is available on the CBSE website

3. What is Scheme 1 and Scheme 2 to appear in SAII in class X?

Scheme-1: For those who do not wish to move out of the CBSE System after Class
Scheme -2: For those who wish to move out of the CBSE System after Class X i.e. who wish to join institutions/ schools/ Junior Colleges affiliated to Boards other than the CBSE.

4. Does Summative Assessment II include the syllabus for the whole year?

No, the syllabus for Summative Assessment II includes only those topics which are prescribed to be taught during term II (October - March).

5. Is it mandatory to obtain 25% marks in the Summative Assessments in classes IX and X?

Yes, it is mandatory to obtain atleast 25% marks in the Summative Assessments (both SA1 and SA2 taken together) of each subject w.e.f the academic session 2013-14. Those obtaining less than 25% marks in a subject in SA1+SA2 shall not qualify that subject.

6. What is the minimum qualifying Grade in a subject in classes IX and X?

A candidate must obtain minimum Grade D in all the five/six subjects. The overall grade in each subject is determined on the basis of the student’s performance in all the assessments (4 FAs, and 2 SAs) in an academic session as per the following weightage:

  1. Term I: FA1 (10%) + FA2 (10%) + SA1(30%) = 50%
  2. Term II: FA3 (10%) + FA4 (10%) + SA2(30%) = 50%
7. Does CBSE award Merit Certificate in Class X?

Yes, the Board awards Merit Certificate to such candidates who obtain Grade A1 in all the five/six subjects under Scholastic Area A, as per the qualifying criteria.

Download the app now

Get Free Access on All the Classes